Bible Question:

When was the Bible translated into Greek?

Bible Answer:

The Old Testament was originally written in Hebrew and Aramaic. It was later translated into Greek. The New Testament was written in Greek. Since then it has been translated into the King James English, English, French, Russian, German, and many other languages.

Old Testament

Most of the Old Testament was written in the Hebrew language. The book of Daniel was written in both Hebrew and Aramaic. It was not until about 287-247 B.C. that it was translated into Greek. Today this translation is called the Septuagint, which is also known as the LXX. Jewish tradition says that seventy scribes translated the Hebrew Bible into Greek between 285 BC and 247 BC. Today the Jews call the Old Testament the Tanakh.

New Testament

The New Testament was written in Greek. In A.D. 383-405 the entire Bible was translated into Latin. Today it is called the Latin Vulgate. Since then at least 34 different versions of the Bible have been published. Some of the significant Bibles are the Wycliffe, King James, New American Standard (NASB), New International Version (NIV), the New King James Version (NKJV), and the New Living Translation (NLT).


Today, God has enabled the Bible to be translated into thousands of languages. Jesus’ goal is for the gospel to be preached to all the world. It is God’s desire to save as many as can be saved.

This gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all the nations, and then the end will come. (NASB) Matthew 24:14