Bible Question:

What is the seventh sign in the book of Revelation?

Bible Answer:

The book of Revelation describes the tribulation, second coming of Christ, the millennial kingdom and the final judgment. The events of the tribulation are described using four sets of symbols (Revelation 6-19). The question we are concerned with is about the third set of symbols called signs.

Seven Signs of Revelation

The Signs In Revelation

The book of Revelation describes the tribulation period using seven seals, seven trumpets, seven signs and seven bowls. The seven signs are not usually taught by teachers even though the signs occur in the description of the tribulation.

The first sign is a woman who represents the nation of Israel (Revelation 12:1-2). The second sign is the dragon which is symbolic of  Satan (Revelation 12:3-4, 9). The third sign is a child who is symbolic of Christ or the Messiah (Revelation 12:5-6). The fourth sign is Michael who is symbolic of the angel Michael (Revelation 12:7-17). The fifth and seventh signs are the antichrist (Revelation 13:1-10) and the false prophet (Revelation 13:11-18).

The Seventh Sign In Revelation

The seventh seal telescopes into the trumpets (Revelation 8:1, 7), the seventh trumpet telescopes into the signs (Revelation 11:15; 12:1) and the seventh sign telescopes into the bowls (Revelation 15:1).

Then I saw another sign in heaven, great and marvelous, seven angels who had seven plagues, which are the last, because in them the wrath of God is finished. Revelation 15:1 (NASB)

This means the seventh sign is technically the seven bowls. This is the same pattern that has occurred with the signs and trumpets.


The signs are symbolic of key individuals, a nation and angels that are important in the tribulation period. We should note that no other individuals are more important.

Suggested Links:

What are the 7 seals, 7 trumpets, 7 signs and 7 bowls of Revelation?
Outline of Revelation
Will the two witnesses appear in the first half of the tribulation?
Does the battle of Gog and Magog occur after the Second Coming?
Book of Revelation